California’s COVID-19 workplace isolation guidelines have changed to come into alignment with current U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) recommendations.
The California Department of Public Health (CDPH) made the change March 13, 2023, adjusting the guidelines based on severity of an individual’s COVID-19 symptoms, according to law firm Greenberg Glusker Fields Claman & Machtinger.
- employees can leave isolation after five days if they’re feeling well, symptoms improved and they’re fever-free for 24 hours
- while employees must still wear a mask for a total of 10 days the requirement is now lifted if the individual tests negative in two sequential tests which are conducted one day apart, and
- all other recommendations related to quarantine remain unchanged along with the recommendation for individuals with COVID-19 symptoms to stay home and test immediately.
These new guidelines have also been incorporated into Cal/OSHA’s regulations.
More information can be found here.